Monday, June 20, 2016

Judo, fencing among sports included in 2017 SEA Games provisional list

Judo and fencing are believed to be four additional sports included by the Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) in the list of sports for the 2017 SEA Games hosted by Malaysia.

According to news that filtered through the corridors of OCM, judo and fencing were among 38 sports in a list to be submitted by OCM at the SEA Games Federation (SGF) meeting on July 13 and 14.

The new list is expected to feature 38 sports and 396 events compared to the initial list of 34 sports and 342 events.

The OCM is believed to have trimmed the number of sports 41 sports listed for the SEA Games which will be hosted by Malaysia for the sixth time after having played host in 1965, 1971, 1977, 1989 and 2001.

Apart from judo and fencing, body building, wrestling, floorball, canoe/kayak, muay thai, wall climbing, tarung derajat (a type of martial art from Indonesia) had appealed to the OCM for inclusion.

The 34 sports listed earlier by SGF on February 24 are athletics, aquatics, archery, badminton, basketball, boxing, cricket, cycling, equestrian, football and futsal, golf, gymnastics, hockey, ice hockey, ice skating, karate, lawn bowls, netball, pencak silat, petanque, rugby 7s, sailing, sepak takraw, shooting, snooker & billiard, squash, table tennis, taekwondo, tennis, tenpin bowling, volleyball, water skiing, weightlifting and wushu.

The OCM have also included eight athletics events that were initially dropped from the athletics programme after a warning from the Asia Athletics Association (AAA) that the meet would not be sanctioned if all 46 events are not in the programme.

Malaysia had dropped marathon (men and women), 10,000m, 3,000m (men and women), 3,000m steeplechase, decathlon and heptathlon since no medals were won in the 2013 Myanmar SEA Games and 2015 Singapore SEA Games.

Meanwhile, OCM honorary secretary Datuk Low Beng Choo when contacted by Bernama said the final list would only be confirmed by the SGF in July.

The biennial SEA Games featuring 11 ASEAN countries - Brunei, Philippines, Indonesia, Myanmar, Singapore, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam, Timor Leste and Malaysia - is scheduled from August 19 to 31, 2017.

The dates were selected in conjunction with Malaysia's 60th year Independence Day celebrations.

No comments: